Massachusetts Forms Commission to Promote the Commemoration of the American Revolution

The Commonwealth joins seventeen other states in forming a commission to promote the commemoration of the American Revolution.

An appropriations bill (H 4000), signed by Gov. Charlie Baker on 16 July  2021, creates the Massachusetts Commission on the 250th Anniversary of the American Revolution. The Massachusetts commission’s 35 members— leaders in the historical, cultural, tourism, and political sectors—will partner with other states and with the federal America 250 Commission to commemorate, celebrate, and investigate the will and determination of the people 250 years ago who risked their “lives, liberty, and property” for the cause of American Independence. This exploration aims to include as many views as possible of the people of the Commonwealth from over the last 250 years. The Commission will engage with the Commonwealth and its people in an inspection of the causes that drove the people of 18th-century Massachusetts to revolution; the ideals they upheld in the formation of new governments; and the resulting outcomes of their actions over the last 250 years.

Revolution 250 takes this opportunity to express its deep gratitude to Senator Nick Collins (1st Suffolk) and Representative David Biele (4th Suffolk) for their efforts on our behalf in filing the original legislation; Representatives Jeff Roy (10th Norfolk) and Paul McMurtry (11th Norfolk) for their tireless work pushing the commission legislation, as well as Senate President Karen Spilka (2nd Middlesex & Norfolk) and Senators Ryan Fattman (Worcester & Norfolk), Michael J. Barrett (3rd Middlesex), Cynthia Creem (1st Middlesex & Norfolk), Senate Ways and Means Chair Michael J. Rodrigues (Bristol & Plymouth) and Brendan Crighton (3rd Essex), Speaker of the House Ronald Mariano (3rd Norfolk), and House Ways & Means Chair, Aaron Michlewitz (3rd Suffolk) for their continuous and unwavering support.